An Awesome Idea for Library Self Promotion

Last year, I was at the Illinois Computing Educators (ICE) Conference, and heard a couple of really good librarians from Hinsdale South High School talk about the ways they push into classrooms.

They mentioned one idea that really stuck with me.  They created a flyer and called it a “take-out menu.”  Then, they put it in chinese takeout boxes with a fortune cookie, and gave it to teachers.  I loved this idea.  Couldn’t stop thinking about it.

With my graphic designer husband, I knew we could do something ridiculously cool.  So, in August, before school started, we did.  I am really proud of how it came out.

photo

Notice the Fortune Teller Miracle Fish and the Chinese Finger Cuffs?  There was a fortune cookie in there, too, but I ate it. 🙂 My thinking behind those was this: I was giving these to teachers at the beginning of the year kickoff meeting.  It is not exactly an exciting meeting, if you know what I mean.

I bought a gross (144) of each thing on Amazon, and my entire total was 60 bucks.  Not too shabby.

Everyone seemed to really love them.  And I know people actually read the menu, because I have already had a few people come to me to ask about some of the new services I detailed inside.  That was the goal, so we’ll call this a win.  I think it is going to be a great year.

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

