Read Aloud Round-Up: The 10 Books I Suggest Most for Middle School Read Alouds

It is perhaps one of the most gratifying parts of my job: when a teacher comes into the library, practically jumping up and down because their read aloud is going so well- and I was the one to suggest the book they are reading.

I have a few qualifications for a good read aloud.

First, it can’t be very long.  I have ADD.  And I’m a fast reader.  If a book runs too long, I will abandon it half way through and leave the kids hanging.  That’s not good.

Second, it needs to be suspenseful.  Every chapter should offer some action or important information.

Third, it can’t have too much detail.  That gets real boring real fast.  I understand that detail is great when you are reading to yourself, but for a read aloud? No.

These are the tried-and-true titles.  The ones that multiple teachers have used multiple times and have always found them to work.

1. The Compound by S.A. Bodeen

compound

2. Cryer’s Cross by Lisa McMann

8543252

3. Juvie Three by Gordon Korman

juvie-three

4. Mrs. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

mrs-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children

5. How They Croaked by Georgia Bragg and Kevin O’Malley

4078269

6. The Shadow Club by Neal Shusterman

Neal_Shusterman_-_The_Shadow_Club

7. Full Tilt by Neal Shusterman

163919

8. Read All About It by Jim Trelease (this one was especially good for my Read-Aloud ADD)

9780140146554_xlg

9. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton (some classics never get old)

the-outsiders-by-s-e-hinton

10. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

when-you-reach-meIf you decide to do any of these, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.  As a matter of fact, I think you’ll love them!

Signature

 

12 thoughts on “Read Aloud Round-Up: The 10 Books I Suggest Most for Middle School Read Alouds

  1. Pingback: Useful links | Rhondda's Reflections - wandering around the Web

  2. Maschielle

    As a new 8th grade ELA mild/moderate special education in a high poverty area I am excited to work on this list with my kiddos!!!! I’ve spent the last 24 years as an elementary teacher, so I really needed this list.

    Thanks!
    Maschielle

    Like

    Reply
  3. Peggy

    I just finished The Honest Truth by Dan Gemeinhart. It was his first novel. It’s about a kid with cancer that runs away. I LOVE this book and my gifted 5th graders loved it. Hard to read some parts without crying.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: To Read or Not to Read This Summer….that is the question | Reading Rumba

  5. Beverly

    This is a great list of reads! I teach 6th grade ELA… Are these appropriate titles for that age, or meant for older middle school?
    Thanks for the recommendations!!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Jo

    Thank you for sharing! The Outsiders is one of my favorite oldies! Loved The Book Thief as well… But also found it too long for a read aloud and sadly abandoned it. It did hook some readers to finish it on their own though. Looking forward to all of your suggestions!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

